The Newtype Vocab
The Newtype Vocab
The Newtype Vocab #7 - Rambling on
--:--
--:--

The Newtype Vocab #7 - Rambling on

Textile experiments for Hyperculture project. Photograph by Yemi Awosile.

Hello all and welcome to the second episode of the oral series of The Newtype Vocab.

This episode turned out a bit harder than I thought it would be to do. But it looks like second guessing whether I need to do another run through of the recording is something I will just have to get used to for now. Hopefully, this is still engaging for you all out there and something interesting comes out of this!

In the recording, I mention a project I have been working on for a while called Hyperculture - the name for which only came about in the last few weeks - with a few people. Stay tuned to Hyperculture.site where we should have the first stage of the project - a virtual exhibition put together with a grant from the British Council and the Ellen MacArthur Foundation in December last year in collaboration with the awesome Yemi Awosile (see a link to her website below).

The project is a branch of the “clothing” bit of the - “A maintenance practice focused on wisdom ecologies of food, shelter, clothing and being.” Newtype overview and is something that I am looking forward to working on for years to come.

It feels strange realising that this project is more than likely going to take a few years to reach what I guess I would consider some form of “maturity”, but I look forward to sharing with you all the various stages of growth as we hit them. I go into a bit more detail about it in the oral section of the newsletter, but please keep an eye on the Newtype Instagram account and Yemi’s Instagram as well for not only more information on when the Hyperculture website will be going live, but also information about an Instagram Live talk we have scheduled to discuss the project in more detail.

Links

Yemi Awosile - Website

What I am reading/watching/playing/listening to

Times Are Urgent, So Let Us Slow Down - Bayo Akomolafe (I am mildly obsessed with Bayo Akomolafe and his Emergence Network. This is one of the shorter interviews with him and I encourage you to rummage around YouTube for some of his other lectures) // Video

Teardrop by Massive Attack with Elizabeth Fraser - (Live performance) // Video

Video games and the future of education (talk by Jonathan Blow) // Video

Emergence Magazine - Excellent website and podcast // Web

Light by M. John Harrison (I decided to dig into his catalogue as his name has been cropping up in all the places I tend to wander around for years now. I read his Viriconium series of stories almost two decades ago now and plan to re-read them once I am done with the Kefahuchi Trilogy of which “Light” is book one) // Book

0 Comments
The Newtype Vocab
The Newtype Vocab
Maintenance as practice, wisdom ecologies, storytelling as futurecraft, worldbuilding, playgrounds and “staying with the trouble”.